Monday, October 16, 2006

Honk if you Like Paranormal

I'm new at this. I like Lucy's idea of asking some questions you can answer--to make it easier to respond to posts.
So--if you're here, you must be a fan of the paranormal.
I'd love to know how you got into your F&SF reading habits.

With me, it was the library basket that the D. C. Public Library delivered to our classrooms every month. I was in fifth grade, and when the teach took RED PLANET, by Robert Heinlein, out of the basket and I saw the cover, I knew I had to read that book. So when we were told we could come and choose, I mowed all the boys down to get to that one. And I've been reading F&SF ever since.
Rebecca

30 comments:

Meljprincess said...

My sister always gives me books for my birthday and Christmas. Some of the books were F&SF so after I read them I wanted to read more.
Also my roommate reads F&SF and he gave me a copy of "Polgara the Sorceress" by David and Leigh Eddings. Now, I love books by them and again I wanted to read more F&SF.

bamabelle said...

I have really gotten more into F&SF in the last year. I have a friend that is more into fantasy books, and she was kind enough to pass her used books to me. She introduced me to a type of story that I am very glad not to have continued overlooking. This is why I try to read new genres and keep branching out. You miss out on so many great surprises if you do not.

CrystalG said...

My brothers read F &SF and I would read the books that they bought

Bonnie Ferguson said...

Historical romance is my first love.

I do enjoy reading paranormal and fantasy romance also. I think it started with a book from silhouette shadows. It was about a witch :)

Cryna said...

I guess my first real paranormal books were from a few that were put into the SIM line a few years back. Also Maggie Shayne had a trilogy that I read, but I am getting into it more now that there are so many out there, although I like the lighter ones over the really dark ones......

Cryna

Kristen Painter said...

I think one of my earliest paranormals was a book called The Spirt Is Willing, about a young girl in a Western town who wanted to go see the mummified body on display at the town saloon. Or something like that. I think that was in third grade.

Chantal said...

I'm new to paranormal. I got a box of books from a family member and mixed in with the lot was a vampire book. I loved it.
Now I seek out paranormals.

Lisa Pulliam said...

I've loved paranormal since I was very young. The first dream I remember (age 3 or 4 I think) had a vampire in it. My fave movie (from age 5 I think and on) is the Lost Boys. I blame my parents, they let me watch whatever I wanted :-) So now I love all things creepy and paranormal.

Vivi Anna said...

My love of paranormal probably started with Stephen King and Dean Koontz. Then I read Anne Rice, and didn't like it, but wanted to read something else with tragic but heroic vampires, so I started gobbling up everything I could get my hands on. My first fantasy book was Eyes of the Dragon by Stephen King, and it's still one of my favorite books of all time.

Shannon McKelden said...

This is really horrible to admit...but I NEVER read paranormal until just a couple of years ago. I wrote VENUS ENVY without once giving thought to the fact that it was paranormal until my agent said, "You realize that's a paranormal romance, right?" I was shocked to say the least (because apparently, I'm not bright enough to recognize the fairy godmother/goddess clue!).

So, once I realized I was writing paranormal, I figured I better read it. Most if it has come by my daughter's recommendations, I have to say. And I've discovered some great writer, especially in the last year.

Shannon

ilona said...

I guess, indirectly, I can blame Myths and Legends for my taste in the paranormal. I read every countries versions when I was about 8+ and just progressed from them to other 'magical' stuff like Scifi and Fantasy and slowly found paranormal along the way. One of my first one's was actually Asimov's Lucky Starr series but all in all I just love a great story.

Little Lamb Lost said...

I was really susceptible to puns when I was in high school and became addicted to Piers Anthony's Xanth series and then his adept series.

Maureen said...

Well I was first interested in SF from watching Lost in Space as a child. I didn't really read any SF books until I was older.

alissa said...

I have been reading SF & F for years and find them entertaining and great.

sharon said...

I usually read mystery fiction but have been delving into SF & F lately and have been enjoying the change of reading material.

ellie said...

I have received gifts from people who know my reading tastes and many have been from the F&SF area. I have read and enjoyed all of these wonderful novels.

joelle said...

When I was much younger the majority of books were SF. At that time I started to try them and got hooked. They are still a favorite of mine.

Estella said...

My daughter introduced me to Dean Koontz books and i progressed from there.

Jennifer Y. said...

I am relatively new to paranormal so I haven't read that many. I can't remember the first one I read. The most recent one was Erin McCarthy's High Stakes about vampires. I tend to follow fave authors as they change genres and I believe that is how I discovered some of the paranormals that I have read.

I am enjoying everyone's responses though and have added some books to check out after looking over the blog.

catslady said...

To be honest I haven't read any paranormals yet but I'm always looking for something new and usually like all genres!

Brandy said...

I discovered paranormal by cruising around the library and just picking up a book that had an intersting cover. I drifted away for a while, but in the past few years have really enjoyed the direction it's going.

Shanna Swendson said...

I kind of backed into fantasy when I was going through my horse phase in elementary school and checking out every book from the library that had "horse" in the title. I ended up with A Horse and His Boy, by C. S. Lewis, from the Chronicles of Narnia. Around that time, they released a cartoon movie version of The Hobbitt, and we talked about it in school, so I read that. From there, I moved on to read the rest of the Chronicles of Narnia and The Lord of the Rings. I guess I'd always been into fairy tales, too, thanks to the Disney movies and lots of storybooks.

I got into science fiction by way of Star Wars. I read the novelization a lot after seeing the movie, then moved on from there to find more space adventure stories to read.

Cathy said...

First got interested in sci/fi & F when I read Dune and Christopher Stasheff's Warlock series back in high school. Lately, got hooked on Esther Mitchell's sci/fi series.

Lucy Monroe said...

For me, it was a book given to me by a friend. She is one of the few people I trust to recommend authors and boy did she open my world. LOL

Pamk said...

lol had a bf back in the day that love F&SF books. But they weren't too much to my taste no romance but loved the stories and worlds and the like. Now I get the best of both worlds. And it's better all the time.

KimW said...

It took me a long time before I tried a paranormal story. I was a contemporary and historical reader only, but I kept hearing about them. Finally I went and got one of Christine Feehan's Dark books and was hooked. I was shocked and wondered what I had waited so long for. lol Now I mix them with the other genres. It's nice to change around so I don't get bored

Rebecca York said...

kimw, glad you decided to join us!
Rebecca

Rebecca York said...

==I kind of backed into fantasy when I was going through my horse phase in elementary school and checking out every book from the library that had "horse" in the title. I ended up with A Horse and His Boy, by C. S. Lewis, from the Chronicles of Narnia.==

Shanna, I love it! That's one of my favorite Narnia books. I really had good time reading it to my daughter. Unfortunately, at the time she was probably too young to appreciate the big joke. But I laughed a lot and tried to explain it to her.
Rebecca

LadyVampire2u said...

In school we had to do a book report and I ended up getting a copy of The Picture of Dorian Grey. The supernatural elements of the story drew me as I was very into ghost stories handed down in our family already. When I expanded my subject range I found I enjoyed paranormal books the best. I have been hooked ever since.

Jaci Burton said...

I remember reading a wonderful book as a child called "The Wonderful Flight To the Mushroom Planet". I was so hooked then on anything SF/F or Paranormal.

Then I fell in love with the Dark Shadows series of books based on the series. And Star Trek fed my love of SF.

Out of the Blogosphere - Template Design | Elque 2007